The Jack Ryan Series

As of the Spring of 1999, Tom Clancy has written nine books in the Jack Ryan series. They were released in the following order (Date indicates year published.):

  1. The Hunt for Red October (1984)
  2. Patriot Games (1987)
  3. The Cardinal of the Kremlin (1988)
  4. Clear and Present Danger (1989)
  5. The Sum of All Fears (1991)
  6. Without Remorse (1993)
  7. Debt of Honor (1994)
  8. Executive Orders (1996)
  9. Rainbow Six (1998)

The books do not read in chronological order. Without Remorse occurs before any of the others, then Patriot Games, then The Hunt for Red October. These changes give a chronological order like this (with an approx date of occurance.):

  1. Without Remorse (Early 1970's)
  2. Patriot Games (Late 1970's)
  3. The Hunt for Red October (Early 1980's)
  4. The Cardinal of the Kremlin (Mid. 1980's)
  5. Clear and Present Danger (Late 1980's)
  6. The Sum of All Fears (Early 1990's)
  7. Debt of Honor (Mid-Late 1990's)
  8. Executive Orders (Immeadiatly After DoH)
  9. Rainbow Six (Approx. 2 years later)

Without Remorse and Raindbow Six are not truely Jack Ryan books. Ryan appears in the first in a two-page cameo, and never in the second. However, both contain characters from the "Jack Ryan universe", and therefore are often considered Jack Ryan books.

Tom Clancy has been quick to inform readers that "John Patrick Ryan isn't dead yet." (alt.books.tom-clancy, 8/20/1997)

Return to index.